LEGAL UPDATE: 02 Oct 2017


White House Expands US Entry Ban to 8 Countries

A Presidential Proclamation, titled “Enhancing Vetting Capabilities and Processes for Detecting Attempted Entry Into the United States by Terrorists or Other Public-Safety Threats,” issued late Sunday, September 24, 2017, the White House announced its intent to expand the restriction of entry into the U.S. to eight (8) countries, to take effect October 18th, 2017.

The eight (8) countries include: Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen.

The administration is taking a tailored approach, providing a variety of conditions, ranging from suspended immigrant and non-immigrant travel to allowing travel for nonimmigrants with additional scrutiny.
Since the travel ban is condition-based, if and when the conditions change for any of the eight countries, the proclamation can be changed. Also, at any time, the Secretary of Homeland Security can recommend that countries be added. The restrictions are indefinite, however, since they don't have a 90- or 120-day limit like the previous travel bans Trump issued in January and in March.
The new travel restrictions are effective immediately for those subject to the two earlier travel bans, and take effect October 18, 2017 for those subject to these new provisions.
This ban does not apply to:
1) lawful permanent residents
2) individuals already in the United States on the effective date
3) individuals with valid visas on the effective date
4) dual citizens who are traveling on passports of a non-banned country
5) individuals already granted asylum.
There is a provision for case-by-case waivers.

If you have questions on how this new announcement may impact you please contact one of our attorneys at or +44 0208 004 3492.

This posting does not constitute direct legal advice and is for informational purposes only.